Mr. Madhu Sudhan Ahikari
Keynote Speaker

Mr. Madhu Sudan Adhikari, is currently serving as the Secretary for Ministry of Urban Development. He has previously worked as president of the Nepal Surveyors Association and is also a life member of Nepal Remote Sensing and Photogrammetric Society as well as ITC Alumni Association Nepal. Mr. Adhikari holds Master Degree in Geo-informatics with Distinction from International Institute for Geo-information Science and Earth Observation (ITC). Similarly, he also graduated with Master’s Degree of Science (Physics) in First Division from Tribhuvan University, Nepal.

Mr. Kamal Pandey

Mr. Kamal Pandey is a transport specialist working with the World Bank as short term consultant and also an adviser to Nepal Planning Commission under UNDP contract for the preparation of the Fifteenth Plan and Vision document. He has served as a short-term Project Implementation Specialist for preparing Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) for National Planning Commission and worked as an advisor to Millennium Challenge Account -Nepal for transport maintenance.

Mr. Pandey has served Government of Nepal for over 32 years under various capacity notably, as Joint Secretary for the Ministry of Physical Planning and Transport. He holds masters degree in transportation engineering from Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Thailand.

Mr. Purna Kadariya

Mr. Purna Kadariya, former secretary for Ministry of Physical Planning and Works, is currently engaged as a senior advisor for IMC, London. He is also a senior advisor at the Department for International Development. Mr. Kadariya has served for over two decades in different capacities within bureaucratic service. Prior to this, he was the Director-General at the Department of Urban Development & Building Construction, Government of Nepal. He had additionally filled in as Infrastructure Specialist at Asian Development Bank. Mr. Kadariya holds his Postgraduate Diploma in Housing, Infrastructure Planning and Building from Institute for Housing and Urban Development Studies, Rotterdam, Netherlands. He studied Bachelor of Architecture (Hons) from Jadavpur University, Calcutta, India.

Mr. Ashish Gajurel

Mr. Ashish Gajurel, is a Transportation and Traffic Expert and has been working in the infrastructure development in Nepal since ten years. He is currently working as a Consultant in the Office of the Investment Board, Government of Nepal. He is also a General Secretary of Nepal Automobiles' Association (NASA).He has completed Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Transportation Engineering from Technical University Munich (TUM), Germany.He has authored a book "Performance Based Contracts for Road Projects" and published numerous articles for national  and international media on traffic management, transportation infrastructure, public transportation, Public Private Partnerships and so forth. He was also a visiting faculty for Transport Economics and Public Transportation at the Institute of Engineering, Tribhuvan University.


Mr. Dadhi Kharel

Mr. Dadhi Kharel is currently serving as the President of Western Nepal Bus Entrepreneurs Association. Mr. Kharel is one of the prominent private sector investor in transportation infrastructure of Western Nepal. He is appreciated for his positive role to promote sustainable transportation system in the region.

Dr. Padma Shahi

Dr. Padma Shahi is a Transportation and Road Safety Expert currently working at the Department of Transport Management as Technical Adviser. He has worked as a Professor at Pokhara University. Mr. Shahi holds long experience of involvement in several road/highway projects especially in traffic study, pavement design, and road safety. He is Chairperson of the Society of Transport Engineers Nepal (SOTEN). He holds Ph. D. from Moscow State Automobile and Road Construction Institute (State University) in 1998. He has worked at Kyoto University, Japan as a Post-doctoral Research Fellow for two years (2003-2005). He is actively engaged in academia as a visiting professor at the Institute of Engineering.

Mr. Surya Raj Acharya